Gold Medal Awards

The Mississippi Radiological Society Gold Medal Award is the highest honor that can be achieved in Mississippi Radiological Society.  This honor is bestowed for excellence and lifetime achievement in Radiology to those individuals who have rendered exceptional service to the field.  Gold Medal recipients exemplify those individuals who have dedicated their past and present talents to advancing the quality of patient care through the practice of Radiology and who, by their outstanding achievements, also help to ensure the future of Radiology.

Chapter Members may nominate Gold Medal Award recipients with distinguished and extraordinary service to the practice of Radiology.   Service to Radiology may be in teaching, basic research, clinical investigation, clinical practice or in other areas, such as outstanding contributions to the Mississippi Radiological Society, other medical organizations, governmental agencies and related groups.

Nominations should describe the nominee’s qualifications for the award and should be forwarded to the Gold Medal Award Committee.   The principal nominator is responsible for presenting the nomination at the regular Spring MRS meeting. A vote of the members present will be taken.  If approved, the principal nominator will read the nomination at the regular Fall MRS meeting and present the award to the recipient.

Gold Medal Awardees:
2013 – Dr. Brent Harrison

2012 – Dr. Ottis G. Ball

2011 – Dr. T. Scott McCay

2010 – Drs. Robert P. Henderson and Elmer Harris

2009 – Drs. Paul H. Moore and Waymond L. Rone

2008 – Dr. William Melvin Flowers